SEA contributes $5k to public works memorial project


From left to right: Jon Hebert, Dan Brennan, Tony Paveglio, President Richard Gulla, Director of Operations Dave Rodrigue and Commissioner Victoria Sheehan

On Tuesday, SEA/SEIU Local 1984 proudly presented a check to the state’s Public Works Memorial Committee toward its fundraising efforts to construct a memorial honoring public works employees killed in the line of duty.

“We represent so many public works employees that the decision from the Board of Directors’ to support this project only made sense,” said President Richard Gulla. “When the board made this decision, I had really hoped it would inspire others to contribute as well and I’m really pleased to say that our donation prompted our retirees to donate $500 from their chapter funds. I hope it inspires others.”

NH Department of Transportation Commissioner Victoria Sheehan and Director of Operations David Rodrigue were present to receive the $5,000 check.

“We’re thrilled to accept this check. It gives us the additional boost we need to bring this project to fruition,” Commissioner Sheehan said. “This generous donation really shows the SEA’s dedication toward member safety and remembering those whose lives were taken too early.”

The donation brings the total donations to $44,000 of the $80,000 that the committee needs to raise, with individual donations continuing to trickle in.  “We have every intention of breaking ground in August,” Rodrigue said. “No gift is too small and anyone who wants to support us, please visit the NH Public Works Employee memorial page, which can be found on the DOT homepage.”

The winning proposal for the memorial, shown below, includes four granite slabs to represent the four seasons in which public works employees toil surrounding by 24 shovels to represent the 24 hours they are called to work. The memorial will be built outside of the NH Department of Transportation on Hazen Drive in Concord.


The SEA represents public works employees from the state Department of Transportation and municipalities including Ashland, Laconia, Hampton, Exeter, Seabrook, Rochester, Franklin, Meredith and North Conway.

Individuals can donate at


Did you like this? Share it:

Comments are closed.